The world’s oceans are in crisis. We need your help.

You can help protect 4 million square kilometres of ocean if you tell your MP to Back The Blue Belt now. It only takes a minute – just enter your postcode below.


What is the
Blue Belt?

The Blue Belt will be a series of large protected areas of ocean around 7 of the 14 British Overseas Territories, all of which are under the sovereignty of the United Kingdom.

The Blue Belt consists of Ascension Island, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, Pitcairn Islands, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Saint Helena and Tristan da Cunha.

The surrounding areas of ocean are vast marine estates that contain breeding grounds for a quarter of the world’s penguins, a third of the world’s albatrosses, endangered turtles, and the world’s largest coral atoll. Together, these Territories will create 4 million square kilometres of ocean – an area larger than India.

Marine Protected Areas like these have been found to be a productive, cost-effective and viable way to preserve the ocean’s wildlife. They protect vital ecological processes for both local communities and the planet as a whole.

The proposal is for Overseas Territory Governments to get the support they need to create a Blue Belt. Combined with UK waters, this could become the largest network of marine reserves in the world.

These waters must be protected, and you can help.

Blue Belt Charter

With the fifth largest marine estate in the world, the UK and its Overseas Territories are custodian to the largest coral atoll on earth, globally significant populations of albatross, whales and turtles, and as many as a quarter of the penguins on the planet.

Through the actions of successive governments, the UK has demonstrated global leadership in ocean conservation. We call on the UK to reaffirm this leadership by working with the governments of the Overseas Territories to deliver on Blue Belt pledges to:

  • Establish a 500,000 km² fully protected Marine Protected Area around the South Sandwich Islands in 2018
  • Deliver on the commitment to establish a fully protected Marine Protected Area in at least 50% of Ascension Island’s waters in 2019
  • Support the establishment of a locally-led marine protection regime throughout the waters of Tristan da Cunha by 2020
  • Strengthen the development of the locally-led marine protection regime throughout the waters of St Helena

We also call on the UK to remain a leading force within those international bodies concerned with greater protection of the Polar Regions, the UN process for establishing Marine Protected Areas on the High Seas, and within the Regional Fisheries Management Organisations.

Read more about the Blue Belt Charter and our Blue Belt 2.0 vision, outlined in this pamphlet by Richard Benyon MP.

In December 2018 over 50 additional supporting organisations added their names to the Blue Belt Charter.

Who is

Great British Oceans, a coalition of the Blue Marine Foundation, Greenpeace, Marine Conservation Society, The Pew Trusts, RSPB and Zoological Society of London, support the vision of the UK and Overseas Territory governments to increase marine protection in the British Overseas Territories.

We want the public to be a vocal part of this campaign. We want you to spread the message that marine protection works.

203 MPs across 7 parties are on board so far

If you don’t see your MP below please contact them now. They can sign up by contacting Great British Oceans. You can follow the campaign on Twitter using #BackTheBlueBelt.

  • Bim Afolami MP
  • Peter Aldous MP
  • Rosena Allin-Khan MP
  • Sir David Amess MP
  • Tonia Antoniazzi MP
  • Jon Ashworth MP
  • Kemi Badeonch MP
  • Hannah Bardell MP
  • Hilary Benn MP
  • Clive Betts MP
  • Bob Blackman MP
  • Paul Blomfield MP
  • Sir Peter Bottomley MP
  • Andrew Bowie MP
  • Ben Bradshaw MP
  • Graham Brady MP
  • Deidre Brock MP
  • Alan Brown MP
  • Nick Brown MP
  • Karen Buck MP
  • Ruth Cadbury MP
  • Lisa Cameron MP
  • Alistair Carmichael MP
  • Maria Caulfield MP
  • Alex Chalk MP
  • Sarah Champion MP
  • Douglas Chapman MP
  • Bambos Charalambous MP
  • Jo Churchill MP
  • Simon Clarke MP
  • Rosie Cooper MP
  • Robert Courts MP
  • Ronnie Cowan MP
  • Geoffrey Cox QC MP
  • Stephen Crabb MP
  • Angela Crawley MP
  • Tracey Crouch MP
  • Dr Jon Cruddas MP
  • John Cryer MP
  • Janet Daby MP
  • Sir Edward Davey MP
  • Wayne David MP
  • Martyn Day MP
  • Marsha de Cordova MP
  • Thangam Debbonaire MP
  • Martin Docherty-Hughes MP
  • Nadine Dorries MP
  • Steve Double MP
  • Stephen Doughty MP
  • Oliver Dowden CBE MP
  • Rosie Duffield MP
  • Angela Eagle MP
  • Jonathan Edwards MP
  • Chris Elmore MP
  • Chris Evans MP
  • Tim Farron MP
  • Vicky Ford MP
  • Yvonne Fovargue MP
  • Vicky Foxcroft MP
  • George Freeman MP
  • Gill Furniss MP
  • Marcus Fysh MP
  • Sir Roger Gale MP
  • Mark Garnier MP
  • Patricia Gibson MP
  • Preet Gill MP
  • Cheryl Gillan MP
  • John Glen MP
  • Mary Glindon MP
  • Richard Graham MP
  • Kate Green OBE MP
  • Lilian Greenwood MP
  • Margaret Greenwood MP
  • Nia Griffith MP
  • Andrew Gwynne MP
  • Louise Haigh MP
  • Robert Halfon MP
  • Harriet Harman QC MP
  • Carolyn Harris MP
  • Trudy Harrison MP
  • Helen Hayes MP
  • Sir Oliver Heald MP
  • James Heappey MP
  • Mark Hendrick MP
  • Drew Hendry MP
  • Mike Hill MP
  • Simon Hoare MP
  • Wera Hobhouse MP
  • Sharon Hodgson MP
  • Philip Hollobone MP
  • Adam Holloway MP
  • George Howarth MP
  • Dr Rupa Huq MP
  • Alister Jack MP
  • Christine Jardine MP
  • Ranil Jayawardena MP
  • Bernard Jenkin MP
  • Darren Jones MP
  • Daniel Kawczynski MP
  • Gillian Keegan MP
  • Dr Peter Kyle MP
  • Ben Lake MP
  • David Lammy MP
  • John Lamont MP
  • Pauline Latham OBE MP
  • Chris Law MP
  • Emma Lewell-Buck MP
  • Clive Lewis MP
  • Dr Julian Lewis MP
  • Ian Liddell-Grainger MP
  • David Linden MP
  • Tony Lloyd MP
  • Julia Lopez MP
  • Jonathan Lord MP
  • Tim Loughton MP
  • Dr Caroline Lucas MP
  • Holly Lynch MP
  • Angus MacNeil MP
  • Seema Malhotra MP
  • Kit Malthouse MP
  • Scott Mann MP
  • Rachael Maskell MP
  • Steve McCabe MP
  • Kerry McCarthy MP
  • Stuart C. McDonald MP
  • John McDonnell MP
  • Alison McGovern MP
  • Anna McMorrin MP
  • John McNally MP
  • Stephen McPartland MP
  • Mark Menzies MP
  • Johnny Mercer MP
  • Andrew Mitchell MP
  • Carol Monaghan MP
  • Layla Moran MP
  • Jessica Morden MP
  • Grahame Morris MP
  • Ian Murray MP
  • Gavin Newlands MP
  • Neil O’Brien OBE MP
  • Dr Matthew Offord MP
  • Ian Paisley MP
  • Neil Parish MP
  • Priti Patel MP
  • Owen Paterson MP
  • Mike Penning MP
  • Matthew Pennycook MP
  • John Penrose MP
  • Toby Perkins MP
  • Luke Pollard MP
  • Lucy Powell MP
  • Ellie Reeves MP
  • Rachel Reeves MP
  • Marie Rimmer CBE MP
  • Laurence Robertson MP
  • Gavin Robinson MP
  • Andrew Rosindell MP
  • Douglas Ross MP
  • Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP
  • Andrew Selous MP
  • Naz Shah MP
  • Jim Shannon MP
  • Barry Sheerman MP
  • Tommy Sheppard MP
  • Tulip Siddiq MP
  • Andy Slaughter MP
  • Henry Smith MP
  • Jeff Smith MP
  • Nick Smith MP
  • Royston Smith MP
  • John Spellar MP
  • Sir Keir Starmer QC MP
  • Chris Stephens MP
  • Jo Stevens MP
  • Iain Stewart MP
  • Jamie Stone MP
  • Wes Streeting MP
  • Graham Stringer MP
  • Julian Sturdy MP
  • Mark Tami MP
  • Alison Thewliss MP
  • Derek Thomas MP
  • Gareth Thomas MP
  • Emily Thornberry MP
  • Kelly Tolhurst MP
  • Justin Tomlinson MP
  • Michael Tomlinson MP
  • Thomas Tugendhat MP
  • Liz Twist MP
  • Valerie Vaz MP
  • Theresa Villiers MP
  • Charles Walker OBE MP
  • David Warburton MP
  • Catherine West MP
  • Matt Western MP
  • Helen Whately MP
  • Dr Alan Whitehead MP
  • John Whittingdale OBE MP
  • Hywel Williams MP
  • Dame Rosie Winterton MP
  • Peter Wishart MP
  • Mohammad Yasin MP
  • Daniel Zeichner MP